Sydney NSW Australia

Local Government, Sydney
Simple info website listing all the local government councils in Sydney, New South Wales, Australia.

The decision making body of local government is usually called the city council or shire council. Councils are established by state governments to look after the particular local needs of a city or local community. The people's representatives, (members elected by locals in their local government election) who form the Council are called councillors and the head of the Council is the Mayor or Shire President.
Local government is responsible for providing services within their local area. Some responsibilities inlcude: maintenance of local roads and footpaths, street signs, garbage collection, town planning, building regulations and land subdivisions, infant welfare centres and childcare centres, meals on wheels, libraries, maintenance of parks and gardens, recreation facilities such as swimming pools and beaches
As of 9 September 2016 there are 30 local goverment councils in Sydney, New South Wales, Australia.
Sydney Town Hall


Local Councils in Sydney
Local Government Area Date Established
Bayside Council 9 September 2016
Blacktown, City of 7 March 1979
Burwood, Municipality of 27 March 1874
Camden Council 6 February 1889
Campbelltown, City of 4 May 1968
Canada Bay, City of December 2000
Canterbury-Bankstown, City of 12 May 2016
Cumberland Council 12 May 2016
Fairfield, City of 18 May 1979
Georges River Council 12 May 2016
The Hills Shire 6 March 1906
Hornsby Shire 6 March 1906
Hunter's Hill, Municipality of 7 January 1861
Inner West Council 12 May 2016
Ku-ring-gai Council 1928
Lane Cove Council 11 February 1895
Liverpool, City of 9 November 1960
Mosman Council 11 April 1893
Northern Beaches Council 12 May 2016
North Sydney Council 31 July 1890
Parramatta, City of 27 October 1838
Penrith, City of 21 October 1959
Randwick, City of 23 February 1859
Ryde, City of 1 January 1992
Strathfield, Municipality of 2 June 1885
Sutherland Shire 6 March 1906
Sydney, City of 20 July 1842
Waverley, Municipality of 16 June 1859
Willoughby, City of 17 Nobember 1989
Woollahra, Municipal Council 20 April 1860

Local Governments in Sydney Local Government
Local government is responsible for providing services within their local area. There are 30 local government councils in Sydney. [know more]

NSW Government Sate Government (NSW)
State government is responsible for state development like education, health, transport etc. [know more]

Federal Government of Australia Federal Government of Australia
Federal government, government of Austraia or simply Australian government is reponsible for issues like immigration, foreign policy, defence etc... [know more]

Sydney New South Wales Australia
Sydney CBD Attractions
Royal Botanic Gardens
Sydney Harbour
Opera House
Circular Quay
The Rocks
Pylon Lookout
Harbour Bridge
Bridge Climb
Darling Harbour
Pitt St Mall
The Strand Arcade
Sydney Centre Point
Hyde Park
Things To Do In Sydney
Sydney Info Guide
Sydney Light Rail
Museum & Galleries
Sydney CBD
Sydney (A - Z)
Business & Organisation
Real Estate
Business & Organisation